Tue, Jul

2019 Large Scale Off Road - What a final round

Large Scale Off Road


Last weekend our 2019 season finished a day earlier than scheduled thanks to the  storms and high winds battering the UK.

Not only was the week leading up to our final round a typical april showers week with rain, wind and sunshine but having cancelled the final day of the 2018 championship the commitee were determined to run the 2019 event. Thanks to the dedication of the Nene club they empted all there sumps on Friday to ensure that the track would be able to soak up any rainfall, as the drivers arrived throughout Friday they graduated towards the Nenes party tent enjoyed a warm evening socialising by the open fire with old faces appearing to relive old times.


The forecast for the weekend was changing all of the time and those who turned up Saturday morning encountered the Nene crew busy emptying their sump pumps ready for any future rain.

Following a quick committee meeting and driver’s briefing it was agreed that the meeting would run on the Saturday ahead of any forecasted bad weather but would only run with 2 rounds of qualification which would commence after lunch. So just gone 10am the track opened for a 2 hour practice session whilst I made contact with those drivers who were not already on site to see if they would be attending this round.

Just before 1pm with xx drivers onsite it was time to commence the final round of the 2019 BRCA LSOR series with drivers only having two rounds to produce their best qualification round in the cool damp conditions.

Busy pits despite the weather

 car park033x 

keen to race033x

Eager LSOR racers to race

Following the 2 rounds of qualification the sections EFRA rep reviewed this year’s EFRA proposals and those present voted according on the proposals and 2021 venues.

With the light fading and under the glare of the Nene’s floodlights the 8 class finals began just before 4pm and all sub and semi finals close battles were witnessed as the light faded and the track began to get slippery. Despite these conditions the 3 main finals were a fitting end to our championship with all three finals seeing the lead changing as the 30 minute finals progressed, not only were there battles for first place but also throughout the remaining positions. Both the 4 wheel drive and 2 wheel drive first and second were separated by 1/100’s of a second as each driver made a mistake the other jumped at the chance to get past. The 2 wheel drive final also saw two of our juniors challenging for top 5 finishing Oliver Whittleston and Damian Farlow. After 30 minutes they were separated by 1.5 seconds finishing in 6th and 7th positions respectively but congratulations to Damian on making his first ever A final at just 12 years old.

Round 8 winners were:-

2 Wheel Drive   National   Clubman   Junior
1st   Karl Norris   Oliver Whittleston   Oliver Whittleston
2nd   Andy Blackburn   Damian Farlow   Damian Farlow
3rd   Dominic Blackburn   Kayleigh Knight   Ryan Griffin


4 Wheel Drive   National   Clubman        Junior                 
1st   Leon Satchell   John Darby    
2nd   Guy Page   Ian Nicholson    
3rd   John Darby   Warren Beasley    


Short Course   National   Clubman   Junior
1st   Jack Keatley   Wayne Powell   Evan Sexton
2nd   Neil Young   Robert Harpham   Ryan Hinson
3rd   Martin Fitzpatrick   Simon Godney    


Just as the cars crossed the line at the end of the 2 wheel drive final light rain began to full, stopping briefing to allow the silverware for the round to be given and those who wanted to leave ahead of the forecast heavy rain over night quickly packed up and leave. Those who wanted to stay the night enjoyed another warm evening around the fire burner and danced the night away in the party tent.

Late Afternoon Racing  trucks03x

When the sun goes down, on go the flood lights   flood light033x

Still racing when its dark outside  drivers7pm033x

The 2019 championship title winners are David Parish in Short Course, Karl Norris in 2 Wheel drive and Ian Oddie in 4 Wheel drive. In the clubman championship Mindaugas Klenauskas takes top clubman in 2WD, the 4WD clubman title goes to John Darby and Simon Godney takes the short course honours.

I also wish to take the opportunity to thank the 2019 committee for their efforts, all the drivers for a great season as we travelled the country to some scenic settings during our championship and good luck for the future to our juniors we have in the championship Ryan, Oliver, Zak, Ryan, Damian and Brad - keep up the good work.

Result links

Rnd 8 – Short Course

Rnd 8 – 4 Wheel Drive - Buggy

Rnd 8 – 2 Wheel Drive - Buggy

2019 season - Race Links

I look forward to seeing you next season and welcome working with the 2020 committee elected at Ings last month.

If you cannot wait until next March for your next fix of LSOR racing then either visit your local track over the winter months but if you want to race indoor then get booked into the 2020 Zenoah Challenge Cup which is being run from the 14th to 16 february near Harrogate.


Darren Worth

BRCA 2019 LSOR Section Chairman

ps A pair of happy racers!

 Jack Keatley jack keatley033x

 Martin looking happy033x  Martin Fitzpatrick


Essential SSL