1/10 IC & GT8 BRCA Nationals 2021 Round 5 Wombwell 2021

10th IC Circuit

The 5th and penultimate  National of the 2021 season took place at the fast paced and technical Wombwell Circuit on the 4th and 5th September with an entry of 43 drivers .

For the first time this season there was a full heat for GT8 Electric .Saturday was cloudy but dry all day with plenty of time for set up in the morning followed by timed practice heats in the afternoon. 


3 Wombwell


We were treated to bright sunshine Sunday morning with the weather improving all day. 


After the 1st round of qualifying the pace setters were Mark Green (GT8 Nitro ), Richard Boult (220mm GT ) and Alex Thurston (200mm Touring ), Adam Griffith (GT8 E).


In round 2 Rob Scott took TQ in 220mm GT and Adam Talbot was TQ in GT8 E.


During the next two rounds several drivers made their moves with most of the usual drivers making their  respective A Finals. Notable mentions for young Bailey in 220mm GT and Thomas Gil in 200mm Touring.


4 Wombwell


After the last round of qualifying the positions were as follows:


GT8 Nitro        

1st.Mark Green TQ

2nd. Adam Southgate 

3rd. Ian McLarney


220mm GT           

1st.Rob Scott TQ

2nd.Ryszard Kozakiewicz

3rd. Bailey Rice Draycott


200mm Touring     

1st.  Alex Thurston

2nd. Thomas Gil

3rd. Stefan Chodzynski


GT8 Electric.           

1st. Andy Talbot

2nd.Nigel Fox

3rd. John Alfred

5 Wombwell



B Final 220mm GT


Veteran Jim Beesley led from start to finish with Darren Keeble holding second for much of the race until mechanical issues dropped him down with Ian Arkell driving steadily to take over with Phil Edwards completing the podium.

8a B 2000mm GT wombwell


B Final GT8 Nitro

Derek McLarney dominated throughout with Ian Hartill chasing hard .Paul Dewsnap and Stephen Brooke eventually passed Ian with both finishing on the same lap. 

1st Derek McLarner

2nd Paul Dewsnap

3rd Stephen Brooke 


7 B GT8 Nitro wombwell


 A Final GT8 Electric 


This was the best of three 5 minute finals .

Andy Talbot took the first and third leg to cement his TQ .Adam took second with   

Nigel Fox a well earned third.


1st. Adam talbot

2nd. Adam Griffith

3rd. Nigel Fox


9 A GT8 E Wombwell


A Final 220mm GT 


 Richard K held the lead for a while before suffering a major bodyshell issue. Thereafter there was  a close tussle between Bailey, Rob Scott and Richard Boult. Young Bailey held on with Rob Scott on the same lap and Richard Boult a lap down.

 Devendra Mahatme took 4th one second ahead of Adrian Dew.


1st. Bailey Rice Draycott (Serpent )

2nd. RobScott (Capricorn)

3rd. Richard Boult (Capricorn)


9a A 220mm GT wombwell


A Final GT8 Nitro


Championship leader Mark Green seemed to be cruising to another win before he slowed with Adam Southgate eventually catching Mark coming home only 4 seconds ahead. There was a titanic battle for third between Ian McLarney and Mathew Baker with both drivers within a second of each other for several minutes. They swapped positions regularly with Mathew just taking it by a cars length.


1st Adam Southgate     

2nd Mark Green (Serpent)

3rd Mathew Baker 


10 A GT8 Nitro wombwell


A Final 200mm Touring

 TQ Alex Thurston led throughout maintaining his 100% record .Second qualifier Thomas Gil was going well until attempting a tricky overtake resulted in a major off.    

James Conolly drove with his usual consistency to take second. Stefan Chodzynski took the final podium position to complete a Capricorn clean sweep.


1st Alex Thurston (Capricorn)

2nd James Conolly (Capricorn)

3rd Stefan Chodzynski (Capricorn)


 11 A Final Touring wombwell


Another enjoyable race weekend. The final round is at the newly resurfaced Halifax  circuit in three weeks time.