1/10 IC & GT8 BRCA Nationals Championship Finale

10th IC Circuit

 1/10 IC & GT8 BRCA Nationals Championship Finale - Heres what happened!


IMG 2596 

Round 6 Halifax October 2022


The 6th and final round was held on the 1st and 2nd October at the premier Halifax circuit in West Yorkshire. Not all National Champions were yet decided and the podium positions in all  three classes was up for grabs.


A damp start to the weekend with the drivers welcomed by persistent rain on

Saturday morning. However there was a welcome respite from the weather and time to chat in the newly constructed Driver’s restroom . 

 IMG 2584

Fortunately the rain abated and by mid Saturday afternoon  most drivers were on dry  tyres and getting practice laps in.


The track was closed for the section AGM at 5 pm which was held in the restroom . This proved very lively with  discussions on various proposals and election of the committee.The meeting closed about 7 pm.


After heavy overnight rain Sunday started with a damp track so it was decided to go straight into four rounds of qualifying. By the last round dry tyres has started to grip so that was the time to post your best qualifier.   



The final qualifying positions were as follows :


GT8 Electric


TQ  Glyn Beal

2nd Lee Chapman

3rd  David Dixon

1/10 IC 220mm GT


TQ  Adam Southgate                

2nd Bailey Rice Draycott                     

3rd  Ryszard Kozakiewicz    


 GT8 Nitro


TQ   Mark Boothman            

2nd  Ian McLarney                  

3rd   Steve White           



1/10 200mm Touring


TQ   Alex Thurston

2nd  Stefan Chodzynski 

3rd   Matthew Cook


The drivers were treated to a pleasant surprise  when X-Ray’s World Champion Alexander Hagberg attended the meeting and presented the trophies.




B Final GT8 Electric 


Martin Thorpe took all three legs with Tony Ford close behind and Paul Gresty completing the podium. 


1st Martin Thorpe  

2nd Tony Ford  

3rd Paul Gresty (Capricorn)


B Final GT8E 

A Final GT8 Electric 


TQ Glyn Beal took two of the legs with Dave Dixon the other. Just behind was a consistent Andy Talbot. 


1st Glyn Beal (Capricorn)

2nd Dave Dixon (Serpent)  

3rd Andy Talbot (Capricorn)

A Final GT8E

B Final 220 GT


This was a close tussle throughout between Jim and Phil. Near the end Jim ran out of fuel allowing Phil in to the lead but a mistake by Phil allowed Jim to regain the lead and take the win. A creditable third for Frank Noel.


1st Jim Beesley (Serpent) 

2nd Phil Edwards(Serpent)  

3rd Frank Noel (X-Ray)  

B Final 220GT

A Final 220 GT


 TQ Adam Southgate stormed away to a good lead before retiring with a failed rear belt.  Bailey then took over driving consistently to take the win. Richard K recovered from a poor start to take second with Daniel taking the final podium place.


1st Bailey Rice Draycot (X-Ray) 

2nd Richard Kozakiewicz (Serpent)  

3rd Daniel Chilvers (X-Ray)  

 Bailey AH

A Final 220 GT

A Final GT8 Nitro


This final was a championship shootout with three drivers in with a chance of taking the title. TQ Mark Boothman had a poor start allowing Steve White in to the lead. Matt Baker also recovered from a poor start eventually taking third with Mark climbing back to second. Steve’s win made him National Champion on count back from Matt.


1st Steve White (Capricorn)

2nd Mark Boothman (Genius)

3rd.    Matt Baker (Genius)

 A Final GT8 

A Final 200mm Touring 


TQ Alex Thurston had a good battle with Stefan eventually winning by 3 laps. Byron Russell was comfortable in third. Most of the other drivers had mechanical



1st Alex Thurston (Capricorn) 

2nd Stefan Chodzynski (Capricorn)  

3rd Byron Russell (Serpent)  

 A Final 200mm Touring 

After the trophies for the finals , the presentation for the National Champions in the various classes took place :


GT8 Electric 


Champion Alex Thurston       (Capricorn)

2nd Glyn Beal (Capricorn)                            

3rd Craig Woods (Serpent)          

Championship GT8E


 1/10 200mm Touring


Champion Stefan Chodzynski       (Capricorn)

2nd Devendra Mahatme (Serpent)                            

3rd Byron Russell (Serpent)

 Championship 200mm Touring


GT8 Nitro       


Champion Steve White       (Serpent)

2nd Matt Baker (Genius)                            

3rd Ian McLarney (Genius)       

 Championship GT8

220mm GT       


Champion Ryszard Kozakiewicz       (Serpent)

2nd Bailey Rice Draycot (X-Ray)                            

3rd Richard Boult (X-Ray)    

 Bailey AH


Another enjoyable race weekend to finish the 2022 season. Thanks to the Halifax club for running the meeting so efficiently. Hoping to see all the regulars and some new faces racing in the 2023 season next year. All welcome.