BRCA 1/8 Circuit Wombwell Rd4 race report

1/8th Circuit

Wombwell is a unique circuit on the calendar combining a section of karting track with a challenging infield of bends and short straights.


Recently it played host to round four of the BRCA 1/8 circuit series near Barnsley. The forecast was thunder showers but what we got particularly on the Sunday was quite the opposite with a red hot British summers day.


Wombwell circuit1

A briefing was held on the Saturday followed by open practice where drivers could fine tune their setups as the grip level came up. A few changes we had were Karl Dransfield back driving Shepherd through Zen racing, past European champion Steve White racing a Serpent Electric and Billy Fletcher/Mikey Mansell back also in electric after missing the last round.


It was a close encounter at the top of the nitro class with the top five covered by only six seconds and a good mix of chassis, Alex Thurston took pole from Tim Wood, Mark Green and John Carr. Others to make it in to the 30 minute A-final were Andy Hastings, Karl Dransfield, Jason Frost, Sam Snell, Rob Scott and Chris Snell. Jamie Paton just missed out so ended up top of the B final from Daniel Ludena and Bjorn Baldwin. John Wadsworth took pole for the C final from Mike Manning.

In Electric local track knowledge seemed to give Mikey Mansell the edge from his early racing days as he dominated and became known as the Wombwell legend taking all four rounds and overall TQ from Capricorn team mate Billy Fletcher both on 17 laps, Franck Dambrine returning to racing his ARC lined up third after qualifying from Steve White (Serpent) and Lee Henson (Capricorn).




There was big drama at the start of leg 1 as pole sitter Mikey Mansell unfortunately had electrical issues meaning his car was unusable, he tried to change things to sort the problem but it didn’t go away forcing him out of the other races also which was a great shame after his impressive qualifying. Team mate Billy took full advantage taking all three wins, Steve White managed to get a second and third with best two to count giving him overall second, a great result on his debut with the Serpent car and Lee Henson just edged Bob Harley to take another well-deserved podium with his Capricorn.


In the C-final John Wadsworth took an impressive win by 3 laps from Mike Manning and Vincent Meron secured third. The B-final saw some early casualties but Jamie Paton was able to stay out of trouble winning by 3 laps from Bjorn Baldwin who drove consistently over the 25 minutes, after some early mistakes Daniel Ludena showed he had some good pace climbing back up to the final podium position. Jack Brann, Lee Palmer and Jon Withington were also in the fight for the podium at stages but had to settle about a lap down on third at the end.

Excitement was high for the A-final to see how drivers would approach the 30 minute race with different strategies talked about in the pits and possible tyre changes. Alex lead the field away from Mark Green, Tim Wood had a poor start but was soon moving back up the order. John Carr was out early on with a mechanical issue having looked very quick in qualifying. A quick pitstop from Nicola allowed Tim to do the undercut F1 style past Mark, meanwhile after looking so commanding out front Alex was to have a problem losing a wheel for the first time which unfortunately dropped him all the way back to fifth. He then started his charge back through the field and got close to Tim in the final stages only to have the same problem with a wheel coming off again so he had to settle for second. Tim drove an excellent race after a slow start to take the win for Shepherd, we all hope to see him and Alex battle it till the end next time. Mark stayed out of trouble to take third but just wasn’t able to stay with the front two later in the race. Jason Frost took fourth from Karl back running Shepherd and Rob Scott secured another solid A-final result.

It was great to see former long-time Chairman Eric White presenting trophies and the rest of the White family trackside again, a great weekend had at Wombwell thanks to Trevor and Babs with surprisingly hot weather on the Sunday. We now look forward to Rd5 at Halifax 21/22 August.

A-final Nitro

  • Tim Wood – Shepherd 101 laps
  • Alex Thurston – Capricorn 100 laps (TQ)
  • Mark Green – Serpent 100 laps
  • Jason Frost – Capricorn 96 laps
  • Karl Dransfield – Shepherd 95 laps
  • Rob Scott – Capricorn 94 laps
  • Sam Snell – Mugen 93 laps
  • Chris Snell – Mugen 85 laps
  • Andrew Hastings – Mugen 82 laps
  • John Carr – Shepherd 18 laps

Nitro A final podium1


A-final Electric

  • Billy Fletcher – Capricorn
  • Steve White – Serpent
  • Lee Henson – Capricorn
  • Bob Harley – Xray
  • Franck Dambrine – ARC
  • Pete Yaffia – Serpent
  • Graham Jones – Serpent
  • Mikey Mansell – Capricorn (TQ)

Electric podium1 


B-final Nitro

1st Jamie Paton

2nd Bjorn Baldwin

3rd Daniel Ludena


C-final Nitro

1st John Wadsworth

2nd Mike Manning

3rd Vincent Meron