2017 Scottish GT12 Clubmans - Round 1

1/12th Circuit GT

The first round of the 2017 BRCA Scottish GT12 clubmans took place on 15/01/2017 at Dundee and Angus Radio Control Car Klub.


This years championship comprises of 4 rounds and as well as previous hosts DARCCK and Lothian Radio Control Car Club welcomes a new venue at Grampian Radio Car Club. The usual race format of four qualifiers and three finals ensured plenty of racing and a touring car support class is also new for this year.

Defending champion John Simpson was looking to get off to a good start at his home track while 2014 champion and runner up in the last series, Andrew Edwards was ready to challenge John and is keen to reclaim the title.

The Dundee club had laid out a challenging track that rewarded clean driving and punished mistakes hard.


Right from round 1 John was in commanding form taking the front spot in each round and qualifying in pole position. Andrew was close by in second with Kenneth Rogers qualifying in third. The rest of the A final comprised of local driver Steve McInally, Bryan Thomson and Aaron Mackie who after a 2 year break from GT12 showed great pace in only his third meeting with his new car.

The first leg of the A final was closely fought between John and Andrew with only a tenth between their lap times. An early mistake from John allowed Andrew into the lead, John’s pace was such that he was able to stay in touch with Andrew and when the leader made a small mistake John seized the opportunity with a fantastic clean pass to take the win. Unfortunately legs two and three were not to be so kind to the pole man who may have been feeling the pressure and made mistakes early on in the race. Andrew was not to make the same mistake again and two clean drives saw him take the win in the next two legs and the round. Further down the A final there was a three way battle for third with Kenneth, Steve and Bryan swapping places and ending up tied on points. A tie break on qualifying position meant Kenneth claimed third, Steve fourth and Bryan fifth. Aaron closed out the A final with 6th which is a great result for a return to the class and will definitely be challenging the A finalists in the remaining rounds.

A Final

With the good turnout there were hard fought battles throughout the rest of the finals. It was a clean sweep for the Dundee club in the B Final with a win for Graeme Dick, followed by Craig Mays and Matthew Archer.
C finals saw Dan Lockhart take a clean sweep for a decisive win from Martin Inglis and Ben Jackson. The D final saw some of the mostly keenly fought racing of the day with Tony Luscombe winning on tie break from rival Paul Bignall. Chris Ritchie completed the podium with third in his first big race meeting.

The touring car class was dominated by Peter Eagles taking pole position and winning all three legs of the final. Jeremy Stephens and David Scott battled for second with Jeremy claiming the second spot on the podium.
With three of the four rounds to count the championship is sure to see more competitive and exciting racing.

Thanks go to Dundee and Angus Radio Control Car Klub for a great event and the championship heads north to Grampian Radio Car Club for round 2 on 5th of February.

Full details of the series, results and videos can be found on www.gt12scotland.co.uk