2017 Scottish GT12 Clubmans - Round 2

1/12th Circuit GT

Round 2 of the BRCA Scottish GT12 Clubmans Series took place on Sunday 5th of February at Grampian Radio Car Club.

This was a new venue for the series and saw another great turnout of nearly 30 racers with a good mix of local racers and others making the journey north to compete. The club laid a large flowing track with a sting in the tail as the carpet had a tendancy to make racers work the rear tyres hard and run out of rear grip in a run. Fast times would be earned from clean driving and pacing to make the grip last the full race.

Track 2

Heading into this round 2014 Champion Andrew Edwards was leading after a win in round 1 with defending champion John Simpson sitting close by in second. Third to fifth was a tie between Kenneth Rogers, Steve McInally and Bryan Thomson.

During qualifying the early rounds saw fast times set by Steve closely followed by Bryan with John and Andrew in 3rd and 4th. By round 4 John had got to grips with the carpet and set a time that gave him pole position. Bryan who had been fast all day lined up second. The rest of the A final comprised of Andrew, Steve, Kenneth and Aaron Mackie.

The first two races saw John take a tone to tone victory and securing the overall win for this round of the championship. Andrew had a nightmare with two DNF and Kenneth, Bryan and Steve tied for second with Kenneth securing two thirds and Bryan and Steve each with a 2nd and 4th. John sat out of the third leg with Bryan taking his maiden A final win of the series, Kenneth secured second and Andrew third. Steve dropped down the running with a mechanical failure. After all three legs the order was John from Bryan and Kenneth followed by Steve, Andrew and Aaron.

A Final 2

The B final was the culmination of a day long battle between Graeme Dick and Dave Bruce. Graeme had pipped Dave to pole position and after three legs of close racing completed a clean sweep to secure the win. Dave Bruce a very close second and the rapidly improving Zo Kapasi in third.

C Final was a battle of the junior drivers with Reece Duthie taking a close win from Ben Jackson who secured second place from sixth on the grid. Steven Morrison completed the podium in third.

In the D final Nick Roccas swept the board to secure the win with John Duthie in second and Edward Burnett in third.

The touring car class was again dominated by Peter Eagles taking pole position and winning all three legs of the final. Jeremy Stephens and David Scott battled for second with Jeremy claiming the second spot on the podium.

John now leads the championship by three points with Andrew and Kenneth tied for second place but with three of the four rounds to count and a win for both John and Andrew, the championship is building for some more fantastic racing in the remaining rounds.

Thanks go to Grampian Radio Car Club for a great event and the championship heads back to Dundee and Angus Radio Control Car Klub for round 3 on 12th of March.

Full details of the series, results and videos can be found on www.gt12scotland.co.uk