BRCA GT12 National Series 2018 Rounds 3 & 4 Race Report

1/12th Circuit GT

Chippenham Model Car Club hosted Rounds 3 & 4 of the BRCA GT12 National Series 2018.

BRCA GT12 National Series 2018 Rounds 3 and 4 - 21st and 22nd April 2018 Chippenham

The third and fourth rounds of the BRCA GT12 National Series 2018 were hosted by the Chippenham Model Car Club at the Christie Miller Sports Centre, Melksham on Saturday 21st April and Sunday 22nd March 2018. This is a new venue on the BRCA GT12 National series calendar, but a familiar one to some drivers as the popular CWIC XRS UK Winter series is held at this venue. Saturday saw 62 drivers attending Round 3 and 63 drivers attending Round 4 on Sunday. The race format for both days was a practice heat, four qualifying rounds and one final. Stephen from CMCC welcomed us to the venue and Niall Cochran BRCA GT12 Chairman gave the drivers briefing and then the drivers got on with qualifying and racing


Photo courtesy of Stu Cartwright

The track was laid on ETS carpet with orange dots and was run anti-clockwise on Saturday and clockwise on Sunday.

Round 3 - Saturday 21st April

Qualifying on Saturday was again extremely close at the top end, with Adam Catchpole, Andy Murray and Ollie Payne all topping the field throughout qualifying. Andy took the overall TQ in the fourth round. Throughout qualifying there was some great racing throughout the field. Drivers needed a 31 lap qualifying run to get in to the top 5 in the A Final, and actually five drivers did 31 lap qualifying runs. At the end of qualifying the top ten were Andy Murray, Ollie Payne, Adam Catchpole, Greg Williams, Ben Vincent, Nathan Goodban, Ben Elliott, Mark Jewitt, Matthew Gammons and Owen Smith. Matthew qualified in 9th giving him his first BRCA GT12 National A Final place and Owen Smith qualified 10th and was the top Junior driver of the day.

Round 3 Finals - Saturday All the finals were run over 6 minutes and each and every final was competitive. In the A final Ollie, Andy and Adam were out front from the start but a mistake from Adam meant he retired on lap six. Ben Vincent took up Adam's place in third and pushed hard to close the gap. Recently crowned 1/12 LMP European Stock Champion Ollie Payne took the win, a comfortable 3.06s ahead of Andy in second and Ben Vincent in third. Round 3 -

A final - Results

1st Ollie Payne (Zen)
2nd Andy Murray (Schumacher)
3rd Ben Vincent (Schumacher)
4th Greg Williams (Schumacher)
5th Mark Jewitt (Schumacher)
6th Owen Smith (Zen)
7th Ben Elliott (Zen)
8th Matthew Gammons (Schumacher)
9th Nathanael Goodban (Schumacher)
10th Adam Catchpole (Schumacher).

A final rnd3

3rd-Ben Vincent, 1st-Ollie Murray, 3rd-Andy Murray

Round 3 - A Final Tech Sheet

Tech rnd3

The team prize on Saturday was won by 'Barley Mow'.

Round 3 - Top 3 Juniors

1st Owen Smith (Zen)
2nd Daniel Robins (Schumacher)
3rd Joseph Moore (Schumacher)

Junior rnd3

Round 4 - Sunday 22nd April

With the track now being run clockwise and with the grip coming up qualifying on Sunday was again close throughout the field. Ben Vincent held TQ for the first three rounds, only being out-qualified in the fourth round by Andy Murray, Adam Catchpole and Ollie Payne. Drivers needed a 32 or a 31 lap qualifying run to make the A final. Andy topped qualifying with 32 371.17s. At the end of qualifying the top ten were Andy Murray, Adam Catchpole, Ollie Payne, Ben Vincent, Greg Williams, Mark Jewitt, Ben Elliott, Owen Smith, Ian Joyner and Arran Turner. Arran qualified 10th to line up for his first BRCA GT12 National A final place. Owen Smith qualified 8th and was again the top Junior driver of the day. Junior driver Daniel Robins, showing great support and maturity, helped with set-up and gave up-and-coming Junior driver Joseph Moore a set of tyres during qualifying and Joseph improved his qualifying time from 27 370.26s to 28 362.97s gaining him a place in the D Final. Daniel himself qualified in the C final with 29 363.79s. Great team work boys!

Round 4 Finals - Sunday A clean start from Andy from pole position gave him an early lead from Adam who himself drove cleanly and fairly defensively ahead of Ollie during the first part of the race. Ollie put pressure on Adam lap after lap and then overtook Adam to take second place and went about chasing down Andy. Both Andy and Ollie put in consistently quick laps and as Andy went over the line for the win, Ollie was just 1.04s behind to finish second with Adam finishing closely behind in third

Ollie with the potential of being able to score two more wins in the upcoming final two rounds of the series, could mean a tie for first in the championship on overall points at the end of the series. However taking into account qualifying positions for the 4 scoring rounds so far, Andy took the championship win with his 4 TQ's. So well done to Andy Murray who is the BRCA GT12 National Champion 2018.

Round 4 - A final - Results

1st Andy Murray (Schumacher)
2nd Ollie Payne (Zen)
3rd Adam Catchpole (Schumacher)
4th Owen Smith (Zen)
5th Mark Jewitt (Schumacher)
6th Ben Vincent (Schumacher)
7th Ian Joyner (Schumacher)
8th Arran Turner (Schumacher)
9th Greg Williams (Schumacher)
10th Ben Elliott (Zen)

A final rnd4

3rd-Adam Catchpole, 1st-Andy Murray, 2nd-Ollie Payne

Round 4 - A Final Tech Sheet

Tech rnd4

The team prize on Sunday was won by 'Team Arrowmax'.

Team rnd4

Round 4 Team Prize Winners - Glenn French, Ben Vincent, Scott Morton and Lee Moss from Norwich GT12 RC Car Club.

Round 4 - Top 3 Juniors

1st Owen Smith (Zen)
2nd Daniel Robins (Schumacher)
3rd Joseph Moore (Schumacher).

Junior rnd4


Congratulations to Owen Smith who is the Junior BRCA GT12 National Champion 2018.

Huge thanks to the Chippenham Model Car Club and their members for a great weekend of racing.

Rounds 5 and 6, the final two rounds of the series, are being held at MB Models Raceway in Oulton, Leeds on Saturday 19th May and Sunday 20th May 2018.

Get booked in and come and race with us for the final two rounds at